Minutiae Series 1

Hi Everyone,

This is part four of my catch-ups. Just one blog to go and then I’ll be updated! YAY! Below are four paintings which were quite the departure for me. I hope some of you enjoy them.

Minutiae Series 1 #1-#4 © 2014 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae Series 1 #1-#4

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae #1 © 2014 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae #1

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae #2 © 2014 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae #2

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae #3 © 2014 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae #3

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae #4 © 2014 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae #4

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Art Diary Tuesday 21st April  2015 – Minutiae

These four paintings were the last of my work that was included in the Summer Exhibition “Mini – Things – Everything Under The Sun” at The Stationmaster’s Art Gallery last December.
I was most shocked to find them sold almost instantly. These paintings were just an idea. So I was very moved that they appealed.
After I had finished Perspectives, I still had nine canvases left and no idea what to do with them. With the deadline fast approaching for the exhibition I needed an idea.
I struggle with being in a gallery because I don’t painting to themes very well. I follow the creative Muse where ever she takes me, to try to chain her down to a theme is just unthinkable for me.
The Winter and Summer exhibitions are the best chance I have to display my work as they are un-themed in subject.
I had also been putting a lot of time in at the gallery and between home and garden, my art and the gallery, it was busy to say the least.
I did have a lightbulb moment thankfully.
For years now I have always drawn Celtic designs for fun. Just copying what is there in text books etc.
I love the way the designs weave in together and the animals. I also find it quite meditative.
I had played around with designs on the computer, drawing patterns to their logical conclusions. I just use a basic paint programme to make the designs. These would be perfect because my hand drawing is quite wobbly even with a ruler and drawing a design by hand does take a lot longer. With the computer there is an instant exactness. I still can’t paint perfectly straight but at least the design process is sped up.
I had more than 10 of these on the computer just sitting there doing nothing. It’s just for fun after all, so I had a look and re-sized them to fit the canvases. Some wouldn’t work on such a small-scale but most of them did, enough for nine canvases.
These are those designs.
Despite being very small they still take a couple of days to paint. I wasn’t going to make it, to have all nine ready.
Ikea came to the rescue again for framing and Jamie helped me find just the right frames for them. I had to modify them slightly as I don’t need the glass or matt board that comes with the frames. For these first designs I just painted the backboard and with some crafty pinning secured the backboard in the frame.

What to call them was my biggest dilemma. It didn’t seem right to name them individually. I eventually decided on minutiae. It comes from Latin, meaning “the small details”. I felt that was most apt considering their size.
I have been most impressed with how they come up painted. On my computer the designs exist in monochrome so it was a delight to see them in essence come alive with colour.
For some people they’ve come to see them as mandalas. To me they are just geometric designs. A pattern traced out to its logical conclusion. A mandala has a spiritual meaning. Each colour has a meaning, patterns represent a pathway in the journey to emancipate oneself from suffering to enlightenment. It would be wrong of me to pretend there is a spiritual under tone in the designs or any depth of meaning to them. They are literally the wanderings of my mind.
I always hope that people will find their own story or interpretation with my work rather than relying on what is dictated or what they are told. I’m open to all interpretations of my work, so if you find a spiritual element within them for yourself, that’s fantastic!
Tomorrows blog will be the last five designs.

Until then, thank you to everyone who is reading, for your interest and support.
Tikarma
Xxx

4 thoughts on “Minutiae Series 1

  1. These geometric pieces are just wonderful Tikarma! They play so well with the colours you decided on. I love how each individual one is a wonderful piece on it’s own, or sits well with a partner. It is no wonder they sold so quickly. They did hit a record with the quickest sales (..but then again, you still have one more catchup blog to do! 😁). I’m glad I could help with picking out the right frames for these. Its nice to be able to help a bit more than just being the coffee boy 😂. These pieces are just inspired and show you that one should always persue new directions in art if one wants to grow. Well done on stepping up and stepping out. I am very proud of you xxx 💖 💕

    1. Thank you very much Jamie. 😊
      Don’t underestimate the importance of being the coffee boy lol. 😊 It is nice though to have your input. You saved the day! 💜
      I’m really glad that you have enjoyed watching them come to life. Colour is just as important as framing with these paintings. I’m very glad too, that they came out so well.
      Indeed they have proved popular and I will definitely paint more in the future. 😊
      New directions are very personal. Some artists stick to just the one thing and are happy. I like variety as you know, so I suppose that influences my desire to try new subjects. I will not shift from acrylics though. I’m happy with the medium and have no desire to try any other. So I think it depends on the artist. 😊 That said I do believe there is great value in trying new things. I have found painting these designs a lot of fun. 😊
      Thank you! For all the coffees, your support and advice.
      I’m very proud of you too!
      Xoxo 💖 💓 💞

Comments are closed.