Minutiae S2#4

Minutiae Series 2

Hi Everyone,

This is the last blog of catching up. Below are the five designs which I painted in January this year. I hope some of you enjoy them.

Minutiae Series 2 #1 to #5 © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae Series 2. #1 to #5

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae S2 #1 © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae Series 2. #1

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae S2 #2 © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae Series 2. #2

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae S2 #3 © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Minutiae Series 2. #3

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae S2#4

Minutiae Series 2. #4

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Minutiae S2 #5

Minutiae Series 2. #5

Acrylics

Canvas: 8cm x 10 cm (3.1″ x 4″)

20 cm x 15.5 cm (8″ x 6.2″) framed.

Art Diary, Tuesday 21st April 2015, Minutiae Series 2

These five designs, were painted in the new year. With the holiday season, gallery and daily life, I found myself with little time to paint as I would’ve liked. Nonetheless I finished these designs at the end of January.
I decided with this series to mount the paintings onto card rather than the plain backing board. I think it makes the presentation just that bit more slick.

Minutiae #1 and #3 were sold before I had begun to put paint to canvas and Minutiae #2, #4 and #5 were sold pretty much as soon as I had put them up on Face Book.
These designs seem to strike a chord with people. I have been very moved with the response.
Just like the flower portraits, these were an idea on the whim. I didn’t paint them with any intention other than it might be fun to do. So the reaction always surprises and humbles me. It is nice too, to be validated in interest for what I am doing.
These designs are fun for me to do, even more so than the flowers because of the challenge in design they present. Maybe it says a lot about me that I like the structure, and intricacy and at least the attempt at exactness. I will leave those musings of personality to others. All I know is I find a lot of beauty in the designs and get a lot of joy from making them and that pretty much sums up whether I paint anything at all.
I will be painting more of these designs in the future.
The biggest challenge I will have with the designs is repetition. As a rule I will not paint the same painting/design twice. While there may be broad themes (flowers, nature etc.) each painting is its own unique individual. I do hope I will be able to keep these designs varied as I go forward into the future.

From Minutiae Series 1, I learnt that painting to a deadline is a very negative stress for me and not something I want to do again. I did it in September and then again for December. Maybe it was because both exhibitions came too close together, all I know is I don’t work as well as I can with that kind of expectation looming over me. I prefer to have the work and then see where I fit in as opposed to effectively trying to create work on demand.

I enjoyed painting Minutiae Series 2 much more than Series 1. I was determined not to rush. They would be finished when they were finished. I think it makes a big difference overall. It’s not that I can’t do it. When I have a commission the stress of a deadline is not an issue. For an exhibition though I find it is a burden. I don’t like to rush my art or feel rushed to complete a painting. So that was a very important lesson to learn.

I have resolved to not let myself fall into that stress again.

With that, I have arrived at the present and my next blog will be my new painting. Thank you to everyone for bearing with me as I caught up on my work. I look forward to going back to my once a week blogs (Sunday/Monday) and I hope you’ll enjoy the process of my artwork and it’s journey with me too.

Wishing you all much creativity and inspiration in the rest of your week to come.
Tikarma.
Xxxx

2 thoughts on “Minutiae Series 2

  1. This series is even better than the first Tikarma! They are just so vibrant and jump out at you. They really pop! I think it is very obvious that you enjoyed this series more than the first. They also seem a lot more refined in their composition as well as the presentation. It is no wonder that these set a new sales record. You can’t get any quicker than selling a painting before it is even started. Well done!!! I’m sure there are more people looking forward to your next series of these. This past year has seen many great achievements in your art. And I’m sure it will only get better. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next. Onwards and upwards! With all my love, Jamie xxx 💖 💕

    1. Thank you very much Jamie.
      I’m sure jt stands to reason that with each series you improve along the way as you gain confidence and work out you’re doing. LOL 😊
      I’ve been flabbergasted with the response. Thank you. 💓
      There is interest in my doing more and I am looking forward to gettting the next series underway. 😊
      Thank you for all your help, advice and coffees. I couldn’t do it without your support.
      Onwards and upwards indeed! For both of us.
      With all my love
      Tikarma
      Xoxo 💓 💕

Comments are closed.