While I Was Sitting © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

While I Was Sitting

Hi Everyone,

This weeks blog is my new painting ‘While I Was Sitting’. Below are a few photos and my art diary about the painting for those who are interested in the process.

I hope some of you will enjoy this piece. 🙂

.

.

While I Was Sitting © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

While I Was Sitting

Acrylics

31 cm x 40.5 cm (12″ x 16″)

.

.

Detail-While I Was Sitting © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

Detail Photo of ‘While I Was Sitting’

.

.

Detail 2 While I Was Sitting © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

Detail photo of ‘While I Was Sitting’

.

.

Detail 3 While I Was Sitting© 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

Detail photo of ‘ While I Was Sitting’.

.

.

Art Diary Monday 27th April, 2015. While I Was Sitting.

This painting is a mediative piece. Sitting is metaphor for a period of time passed. The journey here is an internal wandering.
Leaves tumble, fall and grow, flowers to bloom and others that now nurture future potential.
The leaves represent steps in life that lead us to a turning point, a change in direction or a returning to self after a detour. The flowers to bloom and the seed pods represent all the future possibilities, what is still unknown.
The journey in this piece is finishing the sentence. While I was sitting…?
Never has a painting been so apt for me.

I drew this first as a design while attending at the gallery when I first started there. I sat myself down during a quiet period and mentally started a sentence, “While I was sitting…This design emerged as an ending to that sentence.
I started attending at the gallery as a way of overcoming my anxiety that came to consume me after my long period of ill health. I pushed myself to do something I had wanted to do since I moved to Strathalbyn, join the gallery and be part of the community. With palpating heart and shaking like a leaf, that’s exactly what I did!
The design was initially a mentally marker for what I had achieved to be attending at the gallery…it didn’t end that way. It never goes the way I plan. My art is very much it’s own identity and will tell it’s story and mine when it’s ready!

I showed Jamie my design ‘While I was Sitting’ when he came home in the evening.

.

Design for While I Was Sitting © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka
Design for While I Was Sitting
© 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

Jamie so loved the design he promptly went out and bought me a canvas and said to paint it…please… 🙂
So I began to paint it.

Somewhere around a third of the way I stopped and there the painting sat, growing dull and dusty and reminding me every time I looked at it of what I was not doing.
So much has happened in the past 2 years. In the majority they were good things, but at the end I was left feeling like an idiot. There’s nothing like a metaphorical slap across the face to bring home some perspective.
I was left sitting, thinking “What am I doing?” and after much thought I had my needed epiphany. It is time to move on and time to get back to my studio.

I believe everything happens for a reason. Not because of anything spiritual or mystical. Our minds are wondrous creations. I think we set events in motion subconsciously or consciously through avoidance and procrastination. We set up road blocks because we’re not ready. We only come to opportunities or life changes when we’re ready for them. Coincidences emerge around us as we overcome our apprehensions, gain confidence, let go of past hurts. Finally, rather than doing constant U-turns we take the road that leads to life’s crossroads and we know which way we want to turn. We’re ready to be someone new, experience a new direction in life, or take a challenge of new responsibilities.
It was meant to happen, because you made it happen.

This painting hovered in my periphery, waiting, sitting patiently until I was ready. It marks my artistic crossroad. Choosing not to have a drama but re-focusing my energy into the positive direction of my art and in my journey of being an artist.

For myself…

While I was sitting I overcame my fear of unknowns.

I bloomed.
Grew in confidence and self possession.
Discovered the adult in me able to take responsibility, commit to obligations.
While I was sitting I began to be who I want to be.
Fought with the adult, responsible in her obligations.
While I was sitting I decided to be responsible
obligate myself to the path in life I need to walk.
While I was sitting I chose to finish what I had begun. 🙂
While I was sitting…? How would you finish the sentence?
 .

Alternatively, this painting can just be a nice abstract image of leaves falling with some decorative seed pods. 🙂
It is both for me a life lesson as well as a piece I enjoying looking at. Either way I am very happy to have this piece finished and see the painting finally realised.
I am also very excited now to be able to move forward with many new projects.
The first of those will be five new flower portraits. They’ll be the subject of next weeks blog.

Wishing everyone a productive, creative and inspiring week to come.
Tikarma.
Xxxx.

 

8 thoughts on “While I Was Sitting

  1. I just adore this painting Tikarma! It has such a great visual style to it. There is definitely a touch of art nouveau to it, but at the same time, it is definitely it’s own unique style. It is wholly it’s own entity. But, that is the beauty of your art. While there is a touch of familiarity, it is only because the subject is is made up of components familiar to all, as all art is. But your style, no matter what path you choose, always remains gloroiusly unique. It is always Tikarma. Never a faux “insert artist name here” style. And this piece is wholly original in style, beauty and composition. And that speaks volumes.

    While you were sitting? You stepped out of your comfort zone, learnt new skills, made connections, proved yourself invaluable, shared your talents and experience and did amazing things. I am very proud of you Tikarma. You have done brilliantly. But, it is quite ironic that being so involved in the art world has kept you from your own art. It gives me great joy to see you return back to this painting. Back to your paintings. To create original and beautiful art is the greatest gift you can give to the world. And, you have a lot to give. Welcome back Tikarma!!! I look forward to seeing what comes next. With all the love in my heart,

    Jamie
    Xxx

    1. Awwww,
      Thank you so much Jamie for all your wonderfully supportive and kind words.
      I am so glad that you enjoy my painting and very glad indeed that you like the finished product with this painting. 😊
      I can only ever be myself. I didn’t set out to be so different. I just am. 😊 Whether being so different proves a good thing, we’ll see but I’ll never stop being me. 😊
      I’m very proud of you and all you’ve achieved too!
      I’m very greatful for the support you’ve given me over the years.
      I look forward to painting more and being able to share that with you.
      Yours always in love
      Tikarma
      Xoxo

  2. Just beautiful, dear. I haven’t sketched anything in a few years now. It’s so great you have someone supporting your work. I love all your work. I don’t know what happened to my avatar but it’s me, Diana. LOL. ❤

    1. Thanks so much for your kind comment Diana,
      Your avatar has returned! You gotta love it when WP does weird things. lol
      I’m glad you like the painting.
      I guess your sketching is bit like my writing. I haven’t written in a couple of years. Maybe its just our creative muses needing a well deserved break. 🙂
      I am indeed very lucky to have someone who is so supportive of me and who wants me to pursue my passion. I know it doesn’t happen for a lot of people so I do feel very blessed and grateful.
      I love your writing and I wish you many inspired moments and I hope to read more of your stories and poems in the future. 🙂
      Xoxo 💜

      1. I guess you’re right now that I think of it. I was never much of an artist..drawing-wise anyway. Crafts and writing, yes…Drawing…eh. LOL.

        I’ll try to post more stories as I go. Sometimes I forget to post links. I’ve been posting via Blogger lately.

        ~~DJ

      2. Oh, I don’t know about that. I think you’re very artistic.
        I have a lot of intrests but writing and painting would be the primary creative outlets.
        You need time with things like writing and art. So I guess, now is the time for you with focusing on writing, so drawing falls to the background. When your mind needs some air from writing you may find yourself drawing again. 🙂
        I hope that makes sense?
        I try to keep up with links lol you’re welcome to poke me if I miss one. 🙂

        💗 Tiki.
        Xoxo

  3. I very much like this painting! – the way you outline continuity – a positive work with lots of promise … love the colours and subtle, detailed painting too! …Your art diary is great way to join part of your journey! I look forward to your next steps or should I say paint strokes 🙂
    Very well done and thanks for sharing! ♥
    xox mum

    1. Hi Mum,
      Thanks very much for stopping by. I’m very glad that you like the painting. It was very interesting watching it come to life. I think I have developed a liking for detail. 🙂 I’m really glad too that you enjoyed reading about the process to completion.
      I look forward to sharing more paintings. 🙂
      Wishing you happy weaving!
      Xoxo
      Tikarma. 💓

Comments are closed.