September Surprise © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

September Surprise and A Puff of Spring

Hi Everyone,

below are two new flower portraits. They are not for sale just yet. When they do become available for sale I will blog about it. 🙂
I hope some of you enjoy these flowers.

.

September Surprise © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

September Surprise
Acrylics
10cm x 10cm (4″ x 4″)

A Puff of Spring © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

A Puff of Spring
Acrylics
10cm x 10cm (4″ x 4″)

Art Diary,September Surprise/Puff of Spring, Sunday 17th May 2015

September Surprise, deviated quite a bit from the original reference photo. Mainly in the background. The plants stems are actually an awful mess and it was growing in gravel by our local football oval. It’s not strictly a conscious decision to change things around. I’ve always had this issue. I do think in part it is my brain taking the design of painting into an account.
Especially when painting at a small-scale, a space can quickly become too busy. I don’t want the focus taken away from the flower. If a background is too busy it just look a mess or dulls a flower. I don’t sit down and plan it out. It happens as I’m painting the flower and feeling that the background needs to change.

I deviated with Puff of Spring as well. The background was rather dark in the reference photo. The flower was photographed in the prior house I lived in. It was quite unusual with the dark purple and white. I have no idea what it is called, only that it belongs to a very bushy tree and come spring that part of the garden would be full of purple and white puff balls. 🙂

I was asked at the beginning of the week if I’d like to put my work in the gift shop at the Stationmaster’s Gallery. I’ll see on Tuesday how this will work for me and the gallery. I think my art will work better in the gift shop, than the main gallery.

I’m just not the kind of artist who can look 6 or 12 months ahead and paint for that theme and period of time. In that respect I’m incredibly undisciplined. I paint what moves me to paint it. I’m not very good at sitting down and planing out 6 odd paintings to fit a theme. I can’t even stick to my photo reference. Inevitably I will wander off and the painting will not be like the photo at all.

It’s something that stopped me from painting for a very long time. I could draw a tree, a perfectly good tree, it just wasn’t the tree in front of me *sheepish grin*. This led me to believe I couldn’t draw, and if you can’t draw you can’t paint. I’m so glad I got over that erroneous belief!
So to come back to being on topic, with more flexibility in the gift shop maybe it will be a good idea to give my paintings a first run in the gallery before selling them from my studio and online. We will see. 🙂
I have a third flower in the works

.

Flower portrait in progress © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

It doesn’t look like much right now, but it should hopefully begin to take shape over the next few days.
Next week sees me in my housework work week. I have no idea if I’ll be able to find time to paint at all. It’s just motivation to try to keep on going and try to get everything done!
Until the next flowers
Wishing you all an inspiring and creative week ahead.
Tikarma
XXXX

8 thoughts on “September Surprise and A Puff of Spring

  1. I just adore these two pieces Tikarma! They both really pop! When I saw you painting the first I thought it was very good. Then all of a sudden you painted in the background and…WOW! It is amazing the difference it makes. The second one was different. It just popped from the beginning and I knew it was going to be a special piece. But the blue sky really compliments it well. A great job on both of these. You never cease to amaze me. With all my love and admiration, Jamie xxx

    1. Thank you so much Jamie.
      I’m really glad you like the paintings so much! 🙂
      In all honesty I was making it up as I was going along with the first flower. I had no idea if the background would work. I have been pleasantly surprised! 🙂 I’m glad you feel it works too.
      I guess the blue sky is a bit of a safe bet but nonetheless it does bring out certain colours and make for a much more cheerful painting overall.
      Flowers should make us smile afterall. 🙂
      Thank you for all your enthusiasm and support while I have been painting.
      Yours always in love
      Tikarma
      Xoxo 💓

    1. Thank you very much Christine, 😊. I’m really glad you like the paintings.
      In in some ways wish I had a bigger canvas for Puff of Spring. The flowers look so cheerful in a big group together. I’m glad you like it. 😊
      With much love and
      (((Big hugs)))
      Xoxo 💓

Comments are closed.