Painitngs in Progress © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Paintings in Progress

Hi Everyone,

I hope you all had a good and fun Hallowe’en. October went so quickly for me. I have been busy as a bee in my garden and helping out with administration at the gallery amongst other life stuff and events. I have though also been painting and below is a progress update on all my paintings.

Painitngs in Progress © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Personal Passion and Marguerite

.

.

From the large to the small.
I am painting a design for myself as birthday present for me. 🙂
I don’t normally paint for myself but every now and then it’s a nice thing to do. This design which I’ve titled ‘Personal Passion’ is also a test for these type of designs on a larger scale.
The little flower is ‘Marguerite’ She’s finished and ready to be hung. It will be for sale when the rest of the flowers are also finished.

.

.

Personal Passion (Outline) © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka‘Personal Passion’ outline

.

Personal Passion in Progress © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka
Personal Passion in progress

.

When I look at where I’ve started and where I’m at currently I’m satisfied with the amount of progress. These designs are innately time-consuming projects. I only have a couple of hours each night to work on this design. I haven’t been able to get to it each night so it’s very slow, but I think it’s working. I’m at the point where I’m putting in the details around the blocks of colour to resolve the design.

.

Detail-Personal Passion

Detail – ‘Personal Passion’

.

A close up of my latest progress. Painting lines free hand on this scale is new for me and proving quite the challenge. I’m not very good at even walking in a straight line! I don’t aim for perfection, I’m not a machine, I’m only human so I don’t expect it look “perfect” There are some lines I will correct though because they are too crooked and it drives be nuts.
I know many people believe there is little to no room for error with acrylics but I’ve found there are a few opportunities to make mistakes before you really are stuck with what you’ve painted.

Marguerite (finished) © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka ‘Marguerite’

.

A close up of ‘Marguerite’ I’ve had a lot of difficulty with this daisy. I find the more simple they are the more complicated it becomes. A plain white daisy actually has a lot going on with light and shadow and it’s all very subtle, and I’m not a subtle painter. Trying to strike a balance between being over defined and sun bleached it turns out is quite tricky. This is the best I can do for this time and I’m happy enough with it.

.

Flowers in progress © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Flowers in progress

.

Abstracts in progress © 2015 Tikarma VodickaAbstracts in Progress

.

There are plenty more paintings waiting to be painted in the wings. The five new flowers are all in various shades of white. I do hope I will have conquered my difficulties with white by the end of this series.
I have also paintings waiting that are something completely different. The abstract backgrounds will serve as backdrops to various animals. I won’t say more other than it’s tricky to explain.

I have plenty to keep me busy in my studio and as the warmer weather rolls around I intend to make the most of my time in my studio.
I have decided to go back to weekly blogging. I find it useful for myself to keep track of what I’m doing and it’s good motivation for me to keep my priorities where they need to be, doing what is best for my mental health and well-being as well as hopefully providing a little smile and sunshine to someone’s home.

Until next week
I wish you all a creative and inspiring week ahead.

Tikarma. Xx

9 thoughts on “Paintings in Progress

  1. Wow! the large design looks fantastic!
    and I like the little Marguerite! Very peaceful!
    Great to read of your plans – it sound intriguing! I look forward to your next blog and wish you good weather for your studio time and that all your plans work out well! 🙂
    lots of love xox mum

    1. Hi Mum,
      Thanks very much for visiting.
      I’m really glad you like the progress of the design so far. Thank you very much re:Margeruite. I’m glad you like how it turned out. 😊
      Each day sees a little more progress.
      I hope you’ll enjoy following along with the blogs. 😊
      Wishing you too have good light for weaving and good weather!
      😊
      With lots of love
      Tikarma Xoxo

  2. It’s been a great joy seeing Personal Passion come to life from its humble beginnings of a design idea to the stage it is now. Every stage has been exciting and it has been a visual feast seeing all the elements come together to being nearer to a completed piece. I can’t wait to see it hanging in the house.

    Marguerite is a sweet piece and I think you have done well with the challenges of a white daisy. I’m sure lessons learned from this piece will carry over to the other pieces 😊

    Well done on all these wonderful pieces and I am looking forward to seeing more completed artworks coming out of your studio 😆

    May all your lines be straight and may your paint have good coverage 😁. With all the love in my heart, Jamie xxx 💗

    1. Hi Jamie,
      Thank you very much for your supportive comments. 😊
      I’m really glad you have enjoyed watching the paintings come to life.
      It will indeed be a great day when the painting is up on the wall. 😄
      Each painting offers a challenge and something new to learn. I’m quite sure I’ve learned a lot from Marguerite and will learn more as I paint the others.
      Thank you for your good wishes. 😄
      I look forward to continuing to share the journey of creating and painting with you. 😊
      Yours always in love
      Tikarma Xoxo 😙 💗

  3. I love how that mandala turned out! 🙂 That is a great birthday present! I love the abstract art you’re creating….It’s so amazing. You’re so amazingly talented!!!

    DJ

    1. *Blushing *
      Thank you D.J. for your most kind comments. 😊
      I decided it was time to treat myself for a change.
      I’m really glad you like it. It’s almost finished!
      I’m enjoying the design making too. It’s a great work out for the brain. 😊
      Xx
      Tiki.😊

Comments are closed.