Flower Portraits on wall. © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

Serenity…in Progress…

Hi Everyone,

I hadn’t forgot about last weeks blog. I was somewhat derailed in being able to get it up.

My three flower portraits are now hanging in the Mini Thingies exhibition at the gallery. Below is photo of them at home. In my recent chaos I totally forgot to take a photo at the gallery.

The point is, this is what they look like hanging on a wall.

.

.

Flower Portraits on wall. © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

.

Unfortunately I didn’t quite get to finishing the fourth flower portrait Sunday’s Serenity. I didn’t think I would, I just try to be optimistic.

Here is where I left off 2 weeks ago…

.

.

Sunday's Serenity in Progress. © 2015 Tikarma Vodicka

.

.

This week is my painting week and I am determined to get some painting in. Whether it does get finished is another matter. I will certainly be trying my hardest!

In my painting week (previous blog) I found myself taking on the dutuies of the gallery coordinator and last week I was voted in as coorditor of the Stationmaster’s Art Gallery.

It’s a huge step for me! I certainly didn’t think when I put my name down to exhibit in the Mini Thingies exhibition that I’d end up hanging the whole exhibtion!
I have helped coordinators in other fields of community work in the past, but I’ve never actually coordinated before let alone a gallery! So this will be quite the learning curve I’m sure and no doubt a lot of valuable experiance.

This means ineviatably that it will impact on my time to paint. I can’t put the gallery on hold for a week. It doesn’t quite work like that unfortuately. For myself as long as I find time to paint regualry I’ll be okay. If it does impact too heavily on my time to paint then I will have to step down but for now I feel optimistic that I will find a compromise.
I can’t let it dominate for two reasons. Painting is the way I earn money. I don’t earn a lot but everything helps! Also for myself my painitng is very much my medication as far as managing my bi-polar disorder. If I don’t get that space to shut down into a painting I break down, so I haven’t taken on the role light heartedly.

With that said I should say a little about the gallery. For those of you who may not be aware, the Stationmaster’s Art Gallery is a non-profit gallery run entirely by volunteers. We provide affordable hanging spaces for artists and groups to exhibit their work. We also provide space for artists or groups to conduct classes and run workshops. All the money raised through membership and room hire goes back into keeping the doors of the gallery open.

This is why I’m happy to be associated with the gallery and take on this role. Having been blessed in being surround by art all my life I appreciate it’s value in life and also in the community. For me to be involved in an organisation that benenfits the community and artists is a good thing.
I hope I will do good job by the gallery and expand upon the collective experiance of past coordinators and make the right deicsions that will see us grow and continue to provide what I feel in any case is an important resource in my community.

My blogs may contain elements of what I’m doing at the gallery from time to time in the future. I hope those of you who are regular readers will still enjoy my blogs as I take on this new challenge and share my new adventures.

If you’ve made it this far thank you!
My fingers are crossed for a finished painting for next weeks blog.

Until then I wish you all a inspiring and creative week ahead.

Tikarma. Xx

4 thoughts on “Serenity…in Progress…

  1. Good luck with your painting week Tikarma! I’m sure you will make fine progress. The three paintings make a great series and look fantastic on the gallery wall. You have done a brilliant job as coordinator so far and I am sure you will find the right balance once things settle down a bit. Best of luck Tikarma and you have all my full support. With all my love, Jamie xxx

    1. Hi Jamie,
      Thank you very much and for your vote of confidence.
      I’m sure I’ll find a few hours here and there to paint.😊
      I will certainly try my best. Thank you for all your support during this transition. I’m sure once I settle in everything will be fine. 😊
      Yours always in love
      Tikarma Xoxo

    1. Hi D.J.
      Awww thanks so much! You’re too kind! I’m really glad you liked the blog. I will finish this painting! Eventually. LOL 🙂
      May your muse bring you inspiration and may words flow effortlessly from your pen (or keyboard) 😆
      Tiki.:)

Comments are closed.