Tikarma Vodicka. Art demonstration. Sails, April 24th. © Su Hall 2016

Stepping Outside the Studio

Hi Everyone,

This past Sunday was a wonderful day at Sails at Clayton Bay. The weather was perfect, the food lovely and the music from a wonderful line-up of local talent (including hubby Jamie) was fantastic.

.

Open Mic. Sails at Clayton Bay 24th April © Tikarma Vodicka 2016

Sails, open mic. hosted by Greg Coombs.
Top left  Greg Coombs and Trevor Spriggs. Bottom left: Jamie McPherson. Bottom right: Tin Cat Alley.

.

I did manage to finish Fragaria vesca in time. The background gave me all kinds of issues, until I threw away my reference photo and just did my own thing.

.

Fragaria vesca © Tikarma Vodicka 2016

Fragaria vesca

Acrylics.

10cm x 10cm (4″ x 4″)

.

Left to right: Dianthus Barbatus, Native Mystery, Ornamental, Fragaria vesca, Snap Dragon. © Tikarma Vodicka 2016

Left to right: Dianthus Barbatus, Native Mystery, Ornamental, Fragaria vesca, Snap Dragon.

These flowers joined four others to make nine flower portraits for display and I also brought along some larger artwork to fill the second panel. It all worked out perfectly in the end. My artwork was also joined by the artwork of open mic. host Greg Coombs.

.
Top Left: Artwork by Greg Coombs. All other artwork Tikarma Vodicka. Display booth at Sails April 24th. © Tikarma Vodicka 2016

Display booth at Sails April 24th. Top left photo. Artwork of Greg Coombs.

.

Tikarma Vodicka. Art demonstration. Sails, April 24th. © Su Hall 2016

Me, doing my thing. 🙂 Sails April 24th.

photos © Su Hall 2016. used with permission.

The flower portraits are now on display at Sails and are availble to purchase.

Many thanks to the lovely Nikki and Phil who run Sails and Greg Coombs for kicking off the idea.

.
Art diary, Tuesday 26th April 2016. Stepping Outside the studio

.
I have never held a demonstration before, so I had no idea what to expect, especially in such a non-traditional environment. I did have some anxiety as I had no idea who would be interested in my artwork or my painting, or what questions they would ask.
I had given myself a pop quiz the night before on everything I have learnt about painting with acrylics in the last 12 years as well as some names of local artists for people if they wanted more ideas of different styles of painting.
I have to say preparing doesn’t really help with nerves. At least not for me. Until I’m there I’m a sea of anxiety. Nonetheless giving new things a go is part of life (or it should be!) so I ignore all nerves and negative mindsets and just do it anyway.
That said, it is good to have some preparation about the types of knowledge you can pass onto others and hints and tricks etc. I knew there was no way I would be able to finish a flower in a day. They normally take 2-3 days. If I do something like this again, I will make sure I have a painting more completed to work on so it can be finished in the day.
It was a positive experiance for me. All anxieties were dissolved within the first hour. It was somewhat surreal painting in room packed with people. Normally it’s just me and my music. Once that surrealness passed I just got stuck into the painting.
Quite a few people came up to have a look or ask questions and few people wanted tips on how they could improve their paintings. Of course in that setting you can’t give practical advice in the same way you can with a formal tutorial. There are though some basics such as the benefits of adding shadows or highlights, working out where your light is coming from, that you can give despite only having a photo from a smart phone to look at.
In this type of venue setting being flexible is definitely a must!
A handful of children were interested too, which was great. It’s always encouraging to see young kids enthused by art.
During lunch I was left to my own devices. People are interested in their food not art. That was an ideal time for me to get absorbed in what I doing. I normally work to music so having the open mic. in full session was perfect.
I personally think combined events like these are a good thing. They create a vibrant community atmosphere that is invigorating and engaging.
It’s not something for everyone though. It was packed to the rafters, so the volume level was quite high. If you don’t work well with random interruptions, thinking on the spot and lots of noise, it probably won’t work for you.
I wasn’t sure if I could do this, so I’m very glad to discover it is something that I can work with. Obviously I’m not as productive as when I’m in my studio but that’s not really the point. It’s a chance to engage and fuel an interest in art with others, and yes to a certain degree you’re an attraction. As side shows go, I could think of worse acts to do.
So overall I had a great day, an exhausting day, but very worthwhile.
I hope I’ll be able to do more of this in the future, now I know I can work in these settings.
This week I am back in my studio to finish off the poppy I started. I also have several more flowers lined up to complete so it’s back to work as usual for me.
Until next week I wish you all a very creative and inspiring week ahead.
Tikarma.Xx

6 thoughts on “Stepping Outside the Studio

  1. Well done Tikarma! A great day and a lot of fun was had by all. It worked really well with your display and painting demonstration. It was so positive to see so many folks taking an interest in your art and what you were doing. And it was a real joy to see many children interested too. You never know. Maybe you provided the initial spark for some future artists. I’m glad that you were able to overcome your initial nerves and end up having such a positive day. It worked so well and you’ve done brilliantly. Congratulations my love xxx 💖 💕

    1. Thank you very much Jamie! 😊
      It was indeed a great day. I’m glad your time on the mic. Was good. The level of talent we have in the area is in itself inspiring. 😊
      It’s just nice to make art more accessible and ecourage others to see it is for everyone. 😊
      Thanks again. 😊
      💓 💖 💞

  2. I’m glad to see comments are back on here! Yay! LOL. I’m so dorky sometimes. I love the paintings and I hope all goes well with the demonstrations. I’m sure you’ll do fine. The first time with anything is always a nervous feeling, but then you get used to it. Before you know it, you’ll be a professional at it! 🙂

    I love the paintings….and I love the pictures of you! You’re very photogenic! 🙂

    DJ

    1. I love your kind of dorky. 😊 Thanks so much for your comments.
      It felt too weird having comments turned off so I caved and turned them on again. LOL.
      Thank you for the good wishes. Aside from possibly being asked to do this again, I’d like to do some markets in the future. It’s nice to know it’s a concept that works with me. You’re absolutely right, the more I do this the better I’ll get at it. 😊

      *blushing* Aww, you’re very kind.
      I’m glad you liked the photos and the paintings. I don’t often have photos taken of me so it’s certainly a change! 😊

      ((Hugs))
      Tiki. 😊

  3. Good on you, reckon people would love to see you working on your gorgeous paintings! Love your little canvases on their stands – your flowers shine out from them beautifully. Sometimes I use a similar canvas and stand. I paint the canvas edges black and use an acrylic gel gloss medium to attach one of my iPad art prints, and then coat it all over. A satin varnish finish, stops it feeling sticky. May not sound like it, but it does look quite effective. 🙂 Haven’t actually painted that small for a while…not enough hours in a day sometimes, to get doing all the creative things I want to do! All the best with your art – it looks great. ~ Janette.
    Ps. I’ve turned my comments off for a few months now, but probably will have them on again….occasionally – wrote about it in a comment policy I have on my blog. Have a great day!

    1. Hi Janette,

      Thank you very much for taking time out in my blog and your kind comments.

      Your artwork with the small canvases and i-pad art sounds very interesting!
      I’m very touched you like the flowers.
      I think people do find it interesting especially on a small scale as it isn’t something seen very often. I know a lot people are amazed how long they take to paint. Most people assume they take an hour being so small and I see a deeper appreciation for detail once they see part of the process.
      I relate to not having enough hours in a day. I have many projects paitently waiting until I have time. 😊

      I have your read your comments policy. I think it’s such a personal decision to make. I gave it try and at least at this point in time, it’s not right for me.
      Wishing you a very lovely day too!
      😊

Comments are closed.