Sunday at Sails

Hi everyone,

This Sunday just passed I had the opportunity to attend the Open Mic at Sails again. This time I was joined by the lovely and very talented Del Bartlett.
It was a blustery and cold day,nonetheless we still had lots of people enjoying good food, great music by a wide variety of local talent and enjoying art by Del and myself.

.

Open Mic and art demonstration/exhibition at Sails 22nd May © Tikarma Vodicka and Jamie McPherson 2016

Del Barlett (Left panel) and myself (middle panel) enjoying an afternoon of creative art. Thanks to Jamie McPherson for the photo of me (used with permission)

.

Sounds Groovy Open Mic ay Sails. 22nd May 2016. © Tikarma Vodicka 2016

Some of the Sounds Groovy open Mic performers. Left to right. Dean Bird,  David Rogers and friend on flute, Tim Fatchen (as Flying Tadpole), Lynda and Dean Bird, Gerry Holt, Lynda Bird and Shay Hamilton,Tim Fatchen and Jamie McPherson (CBG duelling), Jamie McPherson, Greg Coombs (Sounds Groovy Open Mic host)

.

.

Thanks to Nikki and Phil and the staff at Sails and Greg Coombs for their hard work and organisation.
If you’re interested in finding more about Sails you can visit their Facebook page by clicking on the link below.

Sails @ Clayton Bay

.

Art Diary, Monday 23rd May 2016

It looks like including art along with music will be become a regular event. I will dispense with the collage re-caps in the future and do a proper photo blog now I know that this will be something more regular. It’s wonderful to be able to combine two of my favourite things together.
It does create a lovely family friendly atmosphere and my hat off to Nikki and Phil for all their efforts in creating a vibrant place for local music and hosting regular events.
Rural areas can suffer a bit from “Same old same old” or “Nothing never happens here” syndrome, or worse very little for locals to enjoy on a regular basis. It is hard work organising these types of events, generating interest and keeping the momentum going. People prepared to put the work in are invaluable in a community and their efforts are important in retaining a sense of activity and thriving community.

Sunday was an experiment in indoor entertainment. With the weather now turning cold the outdoor deck is no longer a very inviting place to sit and listen to music and for the musicians rain and wind is not a good combination with electricity!
We all managed to squeeze inside though and even make space towards the end of the afternoon for a little dance floor.
Over time we’ll be able to refine how we set up so that we’re not all in one corner.

Working with Del was lovely. It’s always interesting to see how other people approach their art and the intuitiveness and freedom of Del’s art, warms the heart and fills you with a sense of joy.

It was good too to have a contrast between Del and myself. What we both do is so very different. I’m slow turtle to her sweeping brush strokes and freedom of play with her art.
The difference was pointed out. I cannot produce much work in a short space of time. It wasn’t meant as criticism but I have taken it board.
Part of doing these art exhibitions/demonstrations is also to give visitors something to see and experience. With that in mind and knowing these demonstrations will be more regular I am going to be looking into artwork I can do that is more engaging and “quicker”. While the flowers and designs have become what I paint predominately in the last few years they aren’t all there is to me. This will be a good opportunity to flex my creativity in different directions and have some fun. That’s a good thing. I’m very excited about where it will all lead.
On that note, It’s time to bury myself back into web site building. Everything that could go wrong has gone wrong de-railing and delaying me, but now I can only go upwards and hopefully by the end of this week online!

Whatever you may be doing or wherever your life may take you I hope you are able to find beauty and inspiration in your week ahead.

6 thoughts on “Sunday at Sails

  1. I have this habit to where I tend to work best under pressure. I work better with deadlines. Don’t ask me why. We’re all unique in our own way. It doesn’t make us any less of an artist. You are very talented! 🙂

    DJ

    1. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂
      I really appreciate all your support. 🙂
      I have certain times too where pressure helps get that creativity out. It is tru we are all different and unique.
      It’s not so much about deadlines as it is being flexible and adaptive to the environment. Especially with kids having something they can watch progress is fascinating and exciting for them. Learning to adapt to your audience (which to be fair, most artists never have) is a good thing. For them and me. 🙂

      Tiki. Xx 🙂

  2. It was a brilliant day and your and Del’s art added a great splash of colour to the day. The music was outstanding and for me it was a real joy to join Tim Fatchen on stage together at last with our cigar box guitars. As usual, the food was outstanding! Nikki and Phil have done a wonderful job of opening their doors to art and music and creating an inspiring creative hub of a venue. And Greg Coombs has brought the music and art in a brilliant fashion with all his passion and enthusiasm. It is a learning process for us all, but if this is the early days, then it will just go from strength to strength. It gave me so much joy to see the little ones watching you and Del with so much intent. Maybe they will be the next generation of artists? 😊 I am really looking forward to seeing what you come up with next with your ‘live’ art! Good luck with the website. New and exciting times ahead! May your brushstrokes flow freely and your inspiration flow free-er (is that a word? 😉). With all the love in my heart, Jamie xxx 💖

    1. Thank you very much for all your well wishes.
      Indeed, it is learning as we go along and having good fun while we’re at it. 😊
      Wishing you all the best with your music, it was great to see you and Tim with the CBG’S. May the inspiration flow for you too!
      I think free-er is a word absolutely! 😊
      Yours always in love
      Tikarma
      Xxx

Comments are closed.